Elisabeth Sula – Places of Happiness

The artist Elisabeth Sula calls her current exhibition on display at Novomatic Forum Places of Happiness. The definitions of what can be or what actually makes up a place of happiness are manifold, and all of us carry in our minds distinctive recollections and associations thereof.

Places of happiness can be imaginary places, such as Clemens Brentano’s Vaduz to be found in the attic of his youth, or places that we have actually laid our eyes upon at some time or other. In our minds we often make up places, which we suppose to be places of happiness, although we do not know anything about them at all. But any such place can even be found in our immediate vicinity or can be associated with encounters and people. The striving for happiness is as old as mankind itself. But the ways in which happiness can come true may take on many different forms - from an instantaneous sense of happiness to a state of ongoing bliss.

This pursuit of happiness was also laid down in the American Declaration of Independence and defined as a fundamental human right. Happiness has always been a timely topic with the arts as well, recurring throughout its entire history – from paradise to the more recent Arcadia. Contemporary visual arts, however, have added through abstraction new modes of expressing it visually, thus overcoming the limitations of language as to displaying the otherwise ineffable twilight shades of grey in life.

Elisabeth Sula was born in Vienna in 1962 and studied painting and graphic arts at the University of Applied Art with Oswald Oberhuber, and philosophy and art history at the University of Vienna simultaneously. Therefore, she always incorporates philosophical aspects into the themes of her paintings and uses philosophy as a starting point from which to develop her intentions.

One of her guiding themes reads as follows: “One can only explore the depths in arts after having fathomed one’s own depths”. Consequently, her paintings are rooted in a striving for awareness and authenticity. After a period of monochromatic works the artist discovered the world of colour through her stays in India and gleaned knowledge on spirituality therefrom, which she tries to bring across in her oeuvres, such as “Healing Rooms”, “Knowing Fields” and “Centering”. Paintings like “Celebrate Joy” are illustrating the joy of life and, ultimately, the diversity of life itself.

Her latest paintings yet again use nature as a starting ground. Visual impressions, moods, everyday life or nature form archetypes of a repertory of designs that the artist retrieves from memory to trigger off their artistic transformation onto the canvas. Her paintings, however, display the motifs from a more than purely literary or documentary point of view. They rather translate them into a set of abstract forms and designs. Thus, the mere pictorial and purely illustrating qualities of the objects vanish, while the use of colours at the underlying layer of the painting gets ever more important and the brush and sketching flows defy any description. The painting proper is abstract, yet still leaves room for associations.

Elisabeth Sula develops a truly genuine world of her own on the canvas, which does not defy nature, but, by use of artistic means, rather tries to facilitate a closer look into the origins of any compositional creation and to raise these basic elements of nature onto another, maybe even unusual, plane. In this light, her art operates at a special interface – right at a point where both the systems of nature itself and of painting converge. Maybe it is therefore true that – as Nietzsche once put it – art helps to make mankind aware of the entirety of its existence. Certainly, art constitutes a sensitive way of getting a closer look at those twilight shades of grey in our everyday lives, which is well worth taking.

Mag. Silvie Aigner
curator

May 2011    

Deutsch
English

Elisabeth Sula – Orte des Glücks

Die Künstlerin Elisabeth Sula nennt ihre aktuelle Ausstellung im Novomatic-Forum Orte des Glücks. Die Interpretationen dessen, was ein Ort des Glücks ist oder sein kann, sind vielfältig und jeder trägt dazu seine eigenen Bildern und Assoziationen mit sich.

Orte des Glücks können gedachte Orte sein, wie Clemens Brentanos Vaduz am Dachboden seiner Kindheit oder auch Plätze denen man real als Orte des Glücks begegnet ist. Oft denken wir uns Orte aus, die wir vermeintlich als Orte des Glücks bezeichnen, obwohl wir sie gar nicht kennen. Doch können sich diese auch ganz unmittelbar in unserer Umgebung befinden bzw. auch mit Begegnungen und Menschen zusammenhängen. Das Streben nach Glück ist so alt wie die Menschheit selbst. In der Erfüllung jedoch erweist sich dies als vielschichtiger Begriff, der vom Empfinden eines momentanen Glücksgefühls bis hin zu einer anhaltenden Glückseligkeit reicht.

In der Unabhängigkeitserklärung der Vereinigten Staaten wurde das Streben nach Glück als Pursuit of Happiness auch als Recht des Menschen verbrieft. Für die Kunst war das Glück ebenso ein Thema, das sich kontinuierlich durch die Kunstgeschichte zieht – vom Paradies bis zum neuzeitlichen Arkadien. Die zeitgenössische Kunst hat durch die Abstraktion jedoch neue Möglichkeiten der Darstellung entwickelt, die weit mehr in die oft sprachlich nicht mehr fassbaren Zwischenbereiche des Lebens ausgreifen können.

Elisabeth Sula wurde 1962 in Wien geboren und studierte Malerei und Grafik an der Universität für angewandte Kunst bei Oswald Oberhuber, sowie parallel dazu Philosophie und Kunstgeschichte an der Universität Wien. In ihren Bildern bindet sie daher stets die Philosophie thematisch bzw. als Ausgangsbasis ihrer Intentionen ein.

„Man kann in der Kunst nur in die Tiefe gehen, wenn man bei sich selbst in die Tiefe geht“ ist einer ihrer Leitgedanken. So wurzeln ihre Bilder in einer Sehnsucht nach Bewusstsein und Authentizität. Nach einer Werkphase monochromer Bilder entdeckte die Künstlerin durch ihre Aufenthalte in Indien die Farbe und auch das Wissen um die Spiritualität, die sie versucht in ihren Arbeiten wie „Healing Rooms“, „Knowing Fields“ oder „Centering“ zum Ausdruck zu bringen. Arbeiten wie „Celebrate Joy“ stehen dabei für Lebensfreude und für die Vielfalt des Lebens selbst.

Ausgangsbasis der neuen Arbeiten ist auch wieder die Natur. Gesehenes, Stimmungen, der Alltag oder die Natur bilden Archetypen eines Formenrepertoires, das sich die Künstlerin als Auslöser für eine künstlerische Umsetzung auf der Leinwand in Gedanken abruft. Ihre Bilder zeigen die Motive jedoch jenseits eines literarischen oder dokumentarischen Blickwinkels, vielmehr übersetzen sie sie in ein abstraktes Formenrepertoire. Das Abbildhafte, Illustrative der Objekte verschwindet, die Setzung der Farben im Bildgrund wird zunehmend wichtiger und der Zeichenduktus entzieht sich jeder Beschreibung. Das Bild ist im eigentlichen Sinn ungegenständlich und bleibt dennoch offen für Assoziationen.

Elisabeth Sula entwickelt auf der Leinwand eine eigene Welt, die nicht im Widerspruch zur Natur steht, jedoch versucht, mittels der Möglichkeiten der Kunst den Ursprüngen jeglicher Gestaltung auf den Grund zu gehen und diese Grundelemente der Natur auf eine andere, vielleicht ungewohnte Ebene zu bringen. So gesehen ist ihre Malerei an einer besonderen Schnittstelle angesiedelt. Dort wo die beiden Systeme, jenes der Natur selbst und jenes der Malerei zusammentreffen. Vielleicht ist es daher wirklich so, wie Nietzsche schrieb, dass die Kunst den Menschen hilft, sich das Ganze des Daseins bewusst zu machen. Ein Mittel zu einer sensiblen Annäherung an die Zwischenräume unseres Alltags ist sie allemal.

Mag. Silvie Aigner
Kuratorin
Mai 2011

Deutsch
English