Please click here to download the pdf-file of the published article.

Taken from the Catalogue ´KUNST IM ÖBV - ATRIUM ´ 2005, interview with Elisabeth Sula conducted by Eva Enichlmayr:

Her spiritual search for meaning brought the Viennese artist Elisabeth Sula to India, with “India“ standing for an “exotic experience“ as Gauguin and others before and after him might have made in the Caribbean. In brightly shining magenta, orange or an azure, her paintings conjure up the tropical luminance of this Caribbean sun and feature a lush vegetation far from Europe’s cold countries. Her constant dialogue with traditional ways of thinking and acting of the West and the Far East – apart from studying painting at the Academy of Applied Arts in Vienna, Elisabeth Sula also studied philosophy – is rooted in her longing for awareness and authenticity. Thus, it is only logical that her most recent cycle “Healing Room“ also leads into imaginary (spiritual) spaces, which deal with the attentive awareness towards the self and in which one may “stroll and nurture oneself” (according to the art promoter Andrea Überbacher).

 

This (India) trip to her inner self led to an expansion of her paintings and (spiritual) spaces and in some paintings to an almost inebriating explosion in her choice of colours.

 

Within the scope of the exhibition in the ÖBV building in the year 2002 you created a cycle especially for the Atrium. What was it that fascinated you most with this room?

I was highly impressed by the special light conditions, with the light intruding from above and the positioning of the upward pointing pillars. With my paintings I wanted to resonate with the energy of this room, following the upward direction of these pillars.

Browsing your earlier catalogues, the profound changes in your work over the years become highly evident. How would you describe the process of your artistic development yourself?

Up to the mid-90ies, apart from painting and photography I produced a large number of experimental paintings using various materials and objects, mainly sculptures with paper-mâché on canvas and on wire grid. Paper-maché looks just like plaster, but weighs less, is not as fragile and can be moulded like clay. The predominant colour of many of my works was white then, I referred to them as my “Zen-cylcle”. I attributed great importance to expressing tension through applying reduced means, in particular through light and shadow.

Works of art in white? – A huge difference to your paintings on display here in our house, don’t you think?

While creating my white works I also did paintings in relatively monochrome colours. Actually, it was my trips, especially to India, that inspired me to use colours increasingly.

 

How did your relation to India develop?

In the course of my spiritual search for meaning I felt an intense urge to gain distance to the life I led then and to start something new. Among other things, reading an Indian master, philosopher and professor of literature from the North of India had a great impact on me. I was deeply moved by his texts and I began to take an interest in the Indian culture. During my stays in India I always felt extremely enriched – by everything, the country, the art and culture as well as by the encounters with the people there. I have come to India regularly since 1995. And I feel that the more I explore my own soul, fathom my own inner depth and open up new rooms inside of me, the more new rooms develop in my artistic work.

Inner landscapes – is this an appropriate theme for your paintings?                                                      

I’d rather say spiritual landscapes, soul themes. It is those spiritual contents that I am absorbed in at the time being and that I then translate visually in my cycles. I always work on several canvasses at the same time and each painting consists of multi-layered, mainly transparent layers of acrylic.

What are you focussing on at the moment?

This year, I realised a “Kunst-am-Bau“ painting at the Education Centre of the Ministry of Interior in Traiskirchen, referring to a text passage from Laotse’s tao te king. To me, his wisdom, written down around 600 B.C., is of timeless validity. In my view, in addition to acquiring knowledge, education always has to include a cultivation of the heart as well. In this work I used colours and symbols in a highly deliberate way, whereas in other paintings they appear by mere intuition.

How did you use colours and symbols in the current cycle “Healing Room“?

In this cycle, I create inner spaces, in which you may stroll to nurture yourself and to regenerate and replenish your inner resources. In this context, Andrea Überbacher established a link to nomads who take along their carpets as “substitute gardens“ on their journeys through the desert. The paintings intentionally display an oriental touch, the floral element they contain is a metaphor of inner blossoming, the development of one’s own potential. By placing the ornaments in a rectangular order, a protected room for evolvement and development is being created.

You are strongly interested in philosophical, spiritual topics – do you write as well?

In addition to my art studies I also studied philosophy. But what fascinates me most with painting, is the fact that I can express something in a painting that goes right to the hearts of the viewers, regardless of their nationalities or mother tongues. It represents a different level than reading and appeals directly to the viewer’s subconscious. Nevertheless, it is of vital importance for every artist’s positioning to take a stance – also with political and ecological issues.

You can pride yourself of an impressive number of exhibitions – what is the secret of your success? Or in other words, would you consider yourself a successful artist?

That depends on one’s definition of success. In my view, I am successful whenever I can get across the essence of my inner aspirations in my works in an authentic way. I am glad that I am able to live on the sale of my works. And it means a lot to me to hear how people take pleasure in my paintings and that people gain power and energy from them. To me, leading a successful life means maturing to achieve a maximum of awareness and personal responsibility.

For how long have you been working as an independent artist?

Actually, I always have. During my studies at the Academy of Applied Arts I started to do exhibitions and never wanted to do anything other than art. However, I never was focussed on only one method of expression in my art. I can also see myself working as a photo or video artist. It is important to me to realise topics in an artistic way and to make transparent what my inner aspirations are.

You have lived in many different countries – does the place where you live influence your work?

Yes, among other places, I have lived in Paris, in Italy and repeatedly in India. Whenever I was embedded in different cultures, I was also prompted to create different paintings. Paris is a wonderfully fertile soil for artists, teeming with multi-cultural impressions and offerings. When in Italy, I feel at home, I love the beauty of the country and am enchanted by the ample treasures of ancient art. When in India, I enjoy most of all the spiritual wealth, the colourful plurality of the exotic oriental flair and ambience, its art and culture.

Which role does nature play for you?

Nature is the living space where I replenish my energy resources and where I can nurture myself energetically – apart from its aesthetic opulence. And yet, the colourful saris of the women, the markets and the temples of Asia, for instance, also provide visual sources of inspiration to me. The colour effects there are much more intense than they are here, this is true for everything, like for instance, the clothes, the architecture and nature. Our Western civilisation uses colour in a far more reduced way. It is certainly no coincidence that grey and black are the predominant colours in our consumption-oriented world devoid of any meaning.

As compared to Austria - which differences did you encounter on your stays abroad with regard to the position of the artist in society and to the society’s attitude towards art?

Unfortunately, I often experience the collective mentality in Austria being very reactionary – regarding the respect for oneself and for others. This becomes evident particularly in hierarchical structures. According to my own experience, warm-heartedness and openness are a natural expression of personal dignity among people with cultivated hearts and souls.

 


Deutsch
English

Bitte klicken Sie hier, um die pdf-Ansicht des veröffentlichten Artikels zu laden.

Aus dem Katalog ´KUNST IM ÖBV - ATRIUM ´ 2005,
Interview von Eva Enichlmayr mit Elisabeth Sula:

Ihre spirituelle Sinnsuche hat die Wiener Künstlerin Elisabeth Sula nach Indien geführt, wobei „Indien“ hier für eine Exotikerfahrung steht, wie sie wohl auch Gauguin in der Karibik und andere vor und nach ihm erlebt haben. In intensiv leuchtendem Magentarot, Orange oder einem azurnen Blau beschwören ihre Bilder die tropische Leuchtkraft jener Sonne herauf und künden von einer üppigen Vegetation ferne den kalten Ländern Europas. Ihre stetige Auseinandersetzung mit westlichen und fernöstlichen Denk- und Handlungstraditionen – Elisabeth Sula studierte neben Malerei an der Universität für angewandte Kunst in Wien auch Philosophie – wurzelt in einer Sehnsucht nach Bewusstheit und Authentizität. Ihre jüngste Serie „Healing Room“ führt folgerichtig auch in imaginäre (Seelen-)Räume, welche dieser aufmerksamen Bewusstheit auf das Selbst gewidmet sind und in denen man „wandeln und sich nähren“ (so die Kunstvermittlerin Andrea Überbacher) kann.


Dieser (Indien-)Reise ins Selbst verdankt sie eine Expansion ihrer Bilder und (Seelen-)Räume sowie eine in manchen Bildern geradezu rauschhafte Explosion ihrer Farbgebung.



Im Rahmen der Ausstellung in der ÖBV im Jahr 2002 haben Sie eine Serie speziell für das Atrium gemacht. Was hat Sie an diesem Raum besonders fasziniert?

Beeindruckt haben mich die Lichtsituation, das von oben kommende Licht und die Positionierung der nach oben strebenden Pfeiler. Ich wollte mit meinen Bildern in der Energie dieses Raumes, die dieser Ausrichtung nach oben folgt, mitschwingen.

Wenn man Ihre älteren Kataloge durchblättert, fällt die starke Veränderung im Laufe der Jahre auf. Wie würden Sie selbst Ihre künstlerische Entwicklung charakterisieren?

Bis Mitte der 90er-Jahre habe ich neben der Malerei und der Fotografie sehr viele experimentelle Materialbilder und Objekte gemacht, vorwiegend plastische Arbeiten mit Papiermaché auf Leinwand und auf Drahtgitter. Papiermaché sieht aus wie Gips, ist aber leichter, nicht so zerbrechlich und lässt sich wie Ton bearbeiten. Sehr viele meiner Arbeiten waren damals in Weiß gehalten, ich nannte sie meine Zen-Serie. Es war mir wichtig, eine Spannung mit reduzierten Mitteln auszudrücken, vor allem mit Licht und Schatten.

Weiße Arbeiten – im Vergleich zu den Bildern, die Sie bei uns ausgestellt haben, da sind doch Welten dazwischen?

Ich habe parallel zu meinen weißen Arbeiten auch eher monochrom gehaltene Bilder gemalt. Die zunehmende Intensität des Farbeinsatzes ist eigentlich durch meine Reisen, vor allem nach Indien, entstanden. Wie hat sich Ihre Beziehung zu Indien entwickelt? Durch meine spirituelle Sinnsuche; ich hatte ein intensives Bedürfnis, einen Abstand zu meinem damaligen Leben zu schaffen und etwas Neues zu beginnen. Beeinflusst hat mich u. a. die Lektüre eines indischen Meisters, eines Philosophen und Literaturprofessors aus Nordindien. Seine Texte haben mich tief berührt und ich begann mich für die indische Kultur zu interessieren. Ich habe mich bei meinen Indienaufenthalten immer reich beschenkt gefühlt – von allem, vom Land, der Kunst und Kultur sowie von den Begegnungen mit den Menschen. Seit 1995 bin ich regelmäßig in Indien. Und ich habe das Gefühl, dass je mehr ich meine eigene Seele ergründe, meine eigene Tiefe kennen lerne und in mir neue Räume eröffne, desto mehr entwickeln sich in meinen Arbeiten neue Bildräume.

Innere Landschaften – passt das als Thema für Ihre Bilder?

Vielleicht eher Seelenlandschaften, Seelenthemen. Es geht mir immer um geistige Inhalte, die mich aktuell sehr beschäftigen und die ich dann in Serie visuell umsetze. Ich arbeite immer an mehreren Leinwänden zugleich und jedes Bild besteht aus vielen übereinander liegenden, großteils lasierenden Acrylschichten.

Was beschäftigt Sie aktuell?

Ich habe heuer ein „Kunst-am-Bau-Gemälde“ im Bildungszentrum des Innenministeriums in Traiskirchen realisiert, bei dem ich mich auf eine Textpassage aus dem Tao Te King von Laotse beziehe. Dessen Weisheit, 600 Jahre v. Chr. geschrieben, empfinde ich als zeitlos gültig. Bildung beinhaltet für mich neben dem Erwerb von Wissen immer auch eine Kultivierung des Herzens. In dieser Arbeit habe ich Farben und Symbole sehr bewusst eingesetzt, während sie in anderen Bildern rein intuitiv einfließen.

Wie ist der Einsatz von Farben und Symbolen in der aktuellen Serie „Healing Room“?

In dieser Serie assoziiere ich innere Räume, in denen man wandeln kann, um sich zu nähren und zu regenerieren. Andrea Überbacher verwies dazu auf Nomadenvölker, die ihre Teppiche als „Ersatzgärten“ in der Wüste mit sich führen. Die Bilder haben für mich bewusst einen orientalischen Charakter, das darin enthaltene florale Element ist eine Metapher für das innere Blühen, die Entwicklung des eigenen Potenzials. Die rechteckige Anordnung der Ornamente kreiert einen geschützten Raum für Entfaltung und Entwicklung.

Sie beschäftigen sich sehr stark mit philosophischen, spirituellen Themen – schreiben Sie auch?

Ich habe parallel zum Kunststudium Philosophie studiert. Aber was mich an der Malerei so fasziniert, ist eben, mit einem Bild etwas zum Ausdruck zu bringen, was jeden unmittelbar berührt, unabhängig von Nationalität oder Sprache. Es ist eine andere Ebene als das Lesen und wirkt direkt auf das Unbewusste des Betrachters. Trotzdem finde ich für die künstlerische Positionierung die stete geistige Auseinandersetzung – auch mit politischen und ökologischen Themen – eminent wichtig.

Sie haben eine beeindruckende Fülle an Ausstellungen gemacht – was macht Ihren Erfolg aus? Oder anders gefragt, würden Sie sich selbst als erfolgreiche Künstlerin bezeichnen?

Das hängt davon ab, woran man den Erfolg misst. In meinen Augen bin ich erfolgreich, wenn es mir gelungen ist, die Essenz meines inneren Anliegens in meinen Arbeiten authentisch umzusetzen! Ich bin glücklich, dass ich vom Verkauf meiner Arbeiten leben kann. Und es bedeutet mir auch sehr viel zu erfahren, wie Leute sich an meinen Bildern freuen und dass sie den Menschen Kraft und Energie geben. Ein erfolgreiches Leben bedeutet für mich in erster Linie einen Reifungsprozess zu größtmöglicher Bewusstheit und Eigenverantwortung.

Wie lange sind Sie schon als freie Künstlerin tätig?

Eigentlich immer schon. Ich habe während des Studiums an der Universität für angewandte Kunst begonnen auszustellen und wollte auch nie etwas anderes als Kunst machen. Wobei ich in meiner Ausdrucksart aber nie so fixiert war auf eine Möglichkeit, ich könnte mir auch vorstellen, wieder fotografisch zu arbeiten oder mit Video. Mir ist es wichtig, die Themen künstlerisch umzusetzen und transparent zu machen, was mir innerlich ein Anliegen ist. Sie haben schon in sehr vielen Ländern gelebt – macht es für Sie einen Unterschied, wo Sie arbeiten? Ja, ich habe unter anderem in Paris, in Italien und immer wieder in Indien gelebt. Es entstehen einfach andere Bilder, wenn man inmitten einer anderen Kultur lebt. Paris ist ein großartiger künstlerischer Nährboden, voll von multikulturellen Eindrücken und Angeboten. In Italien fühle ich mich zu Hause, liebe die Schönheit des Landes und bin verzaubert von den reichhaltigen Schätzen alter Kunst. In Indien genieße ich vor allem den dortigen spirituellen Reichtum, die bunte Vielfalt an orientalischem, exotischem Flair und Ambiente, Kunst und Kultur.

Inwieweit ist die Natur wichtig für Sie?

Für mich ist die Natur der Lebensraum, in dem ich am meisten Kraft tanken und mich energetisch nähren kann –neben dem ästhetischen Reichtum. Aber visuelle Inspirationsquellen sind für mich zum Beispiel auch die bunten Saris der Frauen, die Märkte und die Tempelanlagen Asiens. Die Farbeindrücke dort sind wesentlich intensiver als hier, von der Kleidung über die Architektur bis zur Natur. In unserer westlichen Zivilisation ist der Umgang mit Farbe viel reduzierter. Grau und Schwarz dominieren sicher nicht zufällig in einer konsumorientierten, sinnentleerten Welt.

Welche Unterschiede haben Sie bei Ihren Auslandsaufenthalten bezüglich der Position der Künstlerin in der Gesellschaft und des Umgangs der Gesellschaft mit Kunst im Vergleich zu Österreich erlebt?

Ich empfinde die kollektive Mentalität in Österreich leider häufig noch als sehr reaktionär – was die Achtung und den Respekt für sich und andere betrifft. Dies zeigt sich vor allem in hierarchischen Strukturen. Unter seelisch kultivierten Menschen sind meiner Erfahrung nach Warmherzigkeit und Offenheit selbstverständlicher Ausdruck persönlicher Würde.


Deutsch
English