On the occasion of the single exhibition of works by Elisabeth Sula at the Austrian Tobacco Museum (Österreichisches Tabakmuseum), Vienna 1995.

By Dr. Georgia Illetschko, art historian

Elisabeth Sula’s delight in experimenting is virtually palpable. Her multi-faceted creativity allows her to vary techniques, media, picture languages with a yet consistent coherence in contents. Prompted by the surrealists’ liberating lesson on the playful handling of materials, Elisabeth Sula started to produce collages in the 80ies; grass, leaves, driftwood, noodles or caster sugar met the colours on canvas and paper. Phases of expressive-gestic painting were followed by photo overpaintings, collages, experimental prints.

In 1986, the artist’s painting style starts to rise off the wall. The paintings grow bodies, into the room; they become "picture objects", without, however, leaving the wall completely to become a free-standing sculpture. While with the freely floating “sounding bodies“ of 1986, the surface of the canvas appears to unroll into the room, in the “Frame-Conditions” created at the same time, it is increasingly replaced by string and grid structures; merely the frames may remind of a painting.

In the years to come, painting returns to two-dimensionality. However, the method of relief painting with its use of plaster bandages and the incorporation of copper foils and metal wires remain integral design elements.

From 1991 onwards, pure white appears again, along with the preciously glistening metallic surfaces of the bronze and copper paintings and her expressive-gestic painting. The monochrome of the white emulsion paint only faintly indicates the relief of the incorporated paper machés. These symbols are drawings in a strictly reduced form language and – at the same time – stand for the artist’s theme densely transformed into concise signs: search for meaning - vision - portal - soul - day/night ....

In her symbolism, Elisabeth Sula follows a syntax consistently worked out over the many years she had been exploring the symbolism of archaic cultures. The artist defines her artistic activity as "shaping and mediating the original language we all have in common“, and the pivotal role of her works in the creative materialisation and mediation of spiritual contents.

Dr. Georgia Illetschko
Vienna, autumn  1995

Deutsch
English

Anlässlich der Einzelausstellung von Arbeiten von Elisabeth Sula im Österreichischen Tabakmuseum, Wien 1995

Elisabeth Sulas Lust am Experiment ist greifbar. In schöpferischer Vielfalt wechselt sie Techniken, Medien, Bildsprachen mit einer dennoch durchgängigen Kohärenz der Inhalte. Ausgehend von der befreienden Lektion der Surrealisten über den spielerischen Umgang mit Materialien begann Elisabeth Sula in den 80iger Jahren in Collagen zu arbeiten; Gras, Blätter, Treibholz, Nudeln oder Streuselzucker begegneten auf Leinwand und Papier den Farben. Auf Phasen der expressiv-gestischen Malerei folgten Fotoübermalungen, Collagen, Experimentaldrucke.

1986 beginnt sich die Malerei der Künstlerin von der Wand zu erheben. Den Bildern wachsen Körper, dem Raum entgegen; sie werden zu "Bildobjekten", ohne dabei jedoch die Wand vollends in Richtung freier Skulptur zu verlassen. Während sich in den nahezu frei schwebenden Klangkörpern von 1986 die Leinwandfläche in den Raum aufzurollen scheint, wird sie in den gleichzeitigen Rahmenbedingungen zunehmend durch Schnürungen und Gitterstrukturen ersetzt; lediglich die Rahmen signalisieren die Erinnerung ans Bild.

In den folgenden Jahren kehrt die Malerei in die Fläche zurück, doch die Reliefierung durch Gipsbinden, die Inkorporation von Kupferfolien und Metalldrähten bleiben wesentliche Gestaltungselemente.

Seit 1991 tritt wieder reines Weiß neben die preziös schimmernden Metalliséflächen der Bronze- und Kupferbilder und ihrer expressiv-gestischen Malerei. Im Monochrom der weißen Dispersionsfarbe zeichnet sich nur das Relief des eingearbeiteten Papiermachés ab. Diese Symbole sind formal streng reduzierte Zeichnung und stehen gleichzeitig für die zu konzisen Zeichen verdichtete Thematik der Künstlerin: Sinnsuche - Vision - Portal - Seele - Tag/Nacht ....

Elisabeth Sula folgt in ihrer Symbolsprache einer in der jahrelangen Auseinandersetzung mit der Bildsymbolik archaischer Kulturen konsequent erarbeiteten Syntax. Als "gestaltgebende Mittlerin der allen gemeinsamen Ursprache" sieht die Künstlerin die zentrale Rolle ihrer Arbeiten in der schöpferischen Materialisierung und Vermittlung geistiger Inhalte.

Dr. Georgia Illetschko
Kunsthistorikerin
Wien, Herbst  1995


Deutsch
English